Happiness is a Flash.

I remember staring out the window as the countryside flashed by us, the stars bright in the sky, and the mountains like a shadow against the night. We were passing wine in the back seat, taking giant greedy sips trying to keep this euphoric feeling from slipping away. I felt warm and cozy with you as I touched the glass pane and felt the chill of the air outside. That song was playing on the radio, the one that I like so much, and I was singing along without a care in the world. That’s when I suddenly remembered what happiness feels like, it isn’t bright and shiny like we imagine it to be, but sometimes it’s just warm and cozy. These moments would fade and combine into others, the frivolity of the evening would change our happy glow. But I still feel it when I look back at that car ride, your fingers interlaced with mine and that song playing on the radio.

Oh home is wherever I’m with you…

Leave a Reply

