Parenthood.

I wonder if you could’ve forseen the person I would become. This whole human being with thoughts, feelings, and opinions all separate from the ones you taught me. I am acting on my own, making big decisions without your consent or opinion. I take care of myself and you are the one who has to ask if I need help. Pride, yes, that’s something you taught me.

You held me in your arms as a newborn baby and saw a whole future for me and watched me grow before your very eyes, year after year; is this what you imagined? When you taught me how to walk and talk did you picture me moving out of your house and lives with a whirlwind of emotion and opportunity?

I can’t imagine the feeling: remembering what it was like to hold me in your arms knowing that you were the only thing protecting me from the harsh cruel world- the only thing keeping me alive, and now having to stand by and watch as the world releases tirade after tirade of trials and tribulations. Do you feel helpless? Or do you feel freed?

Is this what you imagined? Better, or worse?

Leave a Reply

