A little romance.

I read these little postings of longing for romance, falling asleep in each other’s arms and waking up knowing you can spend the whole day in bed together and that will be okay. I’ve had these things.

I want to respond to these postings and tell them that the love fades, things take over and suddenly laying in bed together all day isn’t okay anymore. You don’t know why, you wish it were, but there’s a vacancy next to you when you wake up in the morning, even if their arms are still wrapped around you. I want to warn them that life isn’t always sweet like that, the world will eventually seep into your love and things will change.

And then I wonder, the smallest tinge of hope filling my pessimistic heart, maybe it doesn’t have to be that way. Maybe I can find someone one day who will forever want to spend lazy Sundays in bed with me and will always ask me what’s wrong when I start to cry, even if they know it’s nothing. Maybe one day someone will love me so much that they will never stop trying to make me happy, even when it seems impossible. Maybe one day, I’ll find that true love that I so deeply believe I deserve.

Maybe one day.

Leave a Reply

